Marc Raeff Prize

Past Recipients of the Raeff Book Prize

The 2020 Marc Raeff Book Prize

The Eighteenth-Century Russian Studies Association, an affiliate organization of the Association for Slavic, East European, and Eurasian Studies (ASEEES), is now accepting submissions for the eighth annual Marc Raeff Book Prize.   We encourage both presses and individual scholars to submit nominations to the members of the prize committee (listed below).

The Raeff Book Prize is awarded for a publication that is of exceptional merit and lasting significance for understanding Imperial Russia during the long eighteenth-century.  The recipient of the award will be recognized with a cash prize, which will be presented in November 2020 during the ASEEES annual convention in Washington, DC.  The award is sponsored by the ECRSA and named in honor of Marc Raeff (1923-2008), historian, teacher, and dix-huitièmiste par excellence.

Please address all questions about the prize to Alexander Martin (Committee Chair) at

Submissions should be made (see Nominating Instructions below) by June 15, 2020.


Nominating Instructions

2020 ECRSA Prize Selection Committee

Lena Marasinova
Ulitsa Dmitriia Ulianova 19,
Institute of Russian History RAN
Moscow 117292
(Россия, Москва 117292,
Улица Дмитрия Ульянова 19,
Институт российской истории РАН)

Alexander Martin (Committee Chair) 
Department of History
University of Notre Dame
434 Decio Hall
Notre Dame, IN 46556

Derek Offord  
23 Canynge Square
Bristol BS8 3LA
United Kingdom

Ilya Vinitsky  
17 Springdale Road
Princeton, NJ 08540